LCVG

Far Cry 2 (PC) Discussion Thread

Covak

I just started playing the PC version.

Holy shit :) On its "Ultra" settings it runs about as well as Crysis for me, only I can have 4xAA on and, overall, I think it looks better, and not just artistically. The shadow maps are incredibly high-res. The LOD pop-in is wonderfully minimal and smooth. Long car rides don't show the slightest background loading hiccups or anything like that. The framerate keeps nice and steady when there's lots going on. Indoors looks great. There's a really consistent, high-quality look to everything and it all meshes really well.

Must go play more! :D If it'll keep running, anyways...

Just after the intro the game suddenly vanished and the Windows firewall was asking me if I wanted to continue blocking Far Cry 2 :/ As soon as you get control, I'd recommend a save! The intro isn't short or skippable. Then a moment later when I first tried to bring up the map it just kinda froze, visually, with sound still going on. Then, after playing for a bit with no problems I saved and quit, only I never quit made it back to my desktop (and CTRL-ALT-DEL just gave me an error sound, heh), so I had to reboot. Good old PC gaming :)

What are you running on the PC side Covak? Curious to see what kind of performance I'll be looking at. I run Crysis and Warhead at a decent clip on high settings and no AA (and with console tweaks and stuff like the CCC pack I can usually maintain 30fps througout the majority of the experience) so I would imagine this will run like dream.:)

I haven't seen the AI do anything special, but they're not bad. I lose them as often as they lose me (when they lose sight of you they don't magically know where you are or just rush your last position blindly). And they do seem to fan out at come at you from all sides if you're not careful.