LCVG

HBO's Soprano's Discussion

MrJames

Sopranos is finally back for its fifth season. The bad news is its not coming until March 7th. I just caught the tail end of a clip on HBO showing Tony beating the hell out of someone at the Bing. Didn't see who it was but figured it was the dipshit bartender who couldn't transfer a phone call a few seasons ago. Steve Buscemi was the scene as well.

HBO's website mow has a short clip between Tony and Carmella in the kitchen. It seems someone is after Tony's family or at least AJ. Click under promo, then Season 5 Exclusive.

Linkage

• Replies 192
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• 2 months later...

Here's a noob question.

What's the Sopranos like? I keep hearing great things about it but I'm not sure I want to shell out 80 bucks or so to get the first season on DVD. I have zero experience with it. None. But I do enjoy a good mob film.

The video store no longer carries any of the 1st season DVDs.

Also, what is the quality of the DVDs? They are 16 x 9 Anamorphic and 5.1, correct? No deinterlacing artifacts, I hope, like so many TV series DVDs?

Excellent start for this season. Much stronger of an opening than Season 4 which just didn't seem "right". The tension between Carmella and Tony is escalating. The kids are choosing sides. A whole slew of new mobsters are hitting the street and now Tony is hot for Melfi!

A question...Did Janice apparently marry Bobby? She says something about her wedding ring missing and I guess my memory of season 4 is hazy but it appears as though she has.

Sam, the Sopranos are kind of hard to explain to someone who hasn't seen any episodes. Everyone I know who have taken a chance on the Sopranos have ended up hooked. The dvd's are pricey and the quality is decent. Nothing to be considered reference level but they are 16:9 anamorphic with 5.1.