LCVG

Free Subsciption to GamePro Magazine

howiedo1n

Thanks Howie,

I've never read GamePro Magazine, but I'll give it a shot. I just love getting magazines for free. I think it stems from a childhood experience wanting to feel important and grownup (by getting mail). Well enough of the self-psychoanalylizing (and proving that I have the mentality of a six year old).

I hope others take advantage of this steal.

Michael

Originally posted by iCamp@Jan 1 2004, 10:07 PM

Nice that it's free -and it's a good find but I'm not sure I'd read GamePro even though it's free. :)

I have a free subscription and can't force myself to actively read it. I keep the latest issue in my bathroom to stave off boredom, but that's all it's really good for.

I started reading GamePro extremely early on...issue 3? 4? I'd guess this was 1989...I was definitely in sixth grade at the time. I thought it was brilliant, and I actually was a fan of the "Adventures of GamePro" strip. I even bought all three collections of comics, if that's any indication. I remember being incredibly excited about the debut of GamePro's syndicated JD Roth-hosted TV show. It was such an event that I even spent the night at a friend's house in anticipation. We couldn't find it in the TV listings, but GamePro listed a local station as airing it, so we got up unnecessarily early and checked in every half hour to see. (It never did air that morning, either. Even though I liked GamePro as a magazine back then, I never warmed up to the TV incarnation, from co-host Brennan's grating surfer voice to Roth's chroma-keyed shenanigans.)

I'm not 10 anymore, though, and GamePro holds absolutely no appeal to me anymore whatsoever. The writing is skewed fairly young -- I don't know what their target demographic is, but I'd guess somewhere around 12 to 14.