LCVG

Somerville - Announced for Xbox/PC - from the creator of Limbo/Inside - Releasing November 15th, 2022 (Game Pass)

Romier S

• 1 year later...
  • Romier S changed the title to Somerville - Announced for Xbox/PC - from the creator of Limbo/Inside - Releasing November 15th, 2022 (Game Pass)
7 hours ago, Derrik Draven said:

Did anyone else get a weird “Half Life 2” vibe when playing Inside? I sure did. 

Actually yes - it did have kind of a City 17 vibe to it. The queues of people at the pseudo-bureaucratic booths and other subtle elements channeled that same feel for me. 

• 3 weeks later...

I started playing this last night. I’m not that far in so don’t really have a strong opinion on it yet, but I have some thoughts. 

There is certainly quite a bit here that is similar to Limbo and Inside. You are, most of the time, essentially moving from one side of the screen to the other (although from right to left this time!) without clarity on what you’re trying to accomplish (besides moving the the next scene).

”Why am I doing this?”, “Why am I going this way?”, “What did that just do?” are questions I asked myself throughout Limbo and Inside, and it is no different here. 

But there are also “What am I supposed to be doing?” questions, and not in the “what is the solution to this puzzle?” vein, but of the “I don’t know where I’m going or what I’m supposed to be doing” type. There is also what appears to be clues to something all over the place, and I have no idea if I’m just missing something important, or if I don’t have the knowledge I need yet (and I hate that feeling). 

The opening in particular probably could have done with a little more direction as it was a little more “open” than the game is now. In Limbo and Inside, you move forward. That’s all you can do. They don’t need to explain much else. This game, at least at the outset, is not like that and I didn’t know it was going to become that. 

Spoiler