LCVG

I am a soon-to-be Xbox Noob. Need massive help.

Dimness

With the new low price point of 150 dollars, I will finally be joining the rank of Xbox system owners and will effectively own all three consoles (technically, my brother has the PS2).

I have the following concerns.

1. I'll be getting Xbox Live. How easy is it to setup and get going?

2. I'll be getting a wireless card (I have a router on my computer). Are there any known problems with them? Do I have to foward a crap load of ports? etc. etc.

3. What's hip in the XBox world right now. :green:

1. Getting on Live should be pretty straight forward. If you have DSL, make sure you set up your router with all the PPPoE stuff. Your Xbox should be good-to-go with autodetect settings then. If you have any problems, make sure your router doesn't need upgraded firmware (happened to me at a friend's) and check your ISP's tech support page to see if they have any special instructions.

Finally, you will probably find better gameplay with the locals here at LCVG than in gen pop. If you send invites out, use the voice feature to tell the invitee who you are. Some people, and I'm one of them, tend to reject invites if the sender's identity is unclear. You can add people manually at the dashboard (start the Xbox without a disc in the drive). You will probably also have some dashboard updates to download.

2. I can't comment on wireless, but if you intend to go wireless with your Xbox you will need a wireless bridge for the Xbox.

3. Current flavors on Live are Rallisport Challenge 2, Rainbow Six 3 (ever since it came out) and Splinter Cell 2. TOCA seems to have a following here as well. Another fun and inexpensive game is Tetris Online (if you like Tetris).

-j

1) Getting XBL up and running is a piece of cake. No problems here.