LCVG

My Eb experience....

Anthony G

I decided to pick up a game at an eb store near me to add to my collection. Sort of a reward for giving two presentations this morning to a rather large group (not a fan of public speaking). Long story short, the ebgames in my area tag on this extended warrenty and inform you after the purchase (not company policy, they are suppose to ask first). Since I shop there offen I accept it and preface the purchase by saying "no extended warrenty". Today, I go up to the counter, the employee asks if I want a pre-owned copy for $5.00 less. I say no thank you and ask for no extended warrenty. His reply, "so you will pay 5 bucks more for a wrapper but won't spend 2 bucks for a 1 year warrenty".:mad:

The tone in his reply made it all the worse. I had to call and complain, the district supervisor will be contacting me in 48 hours. This is not meant to flame Eb as a whole, but this guy really ticked me off. I worked in retail when I was in school and even on my worse day I would never give a customer such attitude.

Sorry, had to vent.

-A

The whole warranty on games thing is hilarious and they nag you for it.

I have NEVER had one of my optical based game stop working. Ever. I had a little problem with my Baldur's Gate II disc 2 (error during install, kept making me ask for bogus discs - more of a problem with the installer). But a quick disc doctoring made it work (I know, I know, but disc buffing as a service wasn't as available back then).

And cartridge games - I still have my Dragon Warrior IV cartridge from when I was like 13 or something.

Today, I go up to the counter, the employee asks if I want a pre-owned copy for $5.00 less. I say no thank you and ask for no extended warrenty. His reply, "so you will pay 5 bucks more for a wrapper but won't spend 2 bucks for a 1 year warrenty".

The tone in his reply made it all the worse.