LCVG

Why are separates better than an a/v receiver?

Bruce B

I've been kicking around the idea for months now of replacing my Denon AVR 4800. On Outlaws website you can get an amp and preamp for around $3000. They both get great reviews. I really like my Denon and the newer receivers are around $4000. So is the Outlaw going to perform better than the Denon just because they are separate devices? I know this is probably an HTF question but there are enough audiophiles here to probably give me an ample answer.

So is the Outlaw going to perform better than the Denon just because they are separate devices?

Not just because they’re separate devices no. After all, they’d still need to be well made separate devices in the first place. I’ve no experience with Outlaw save for hearing some of their stuff on an HTF Los Angeles meet back in 2001. They certainly have a lot of grunt. For the past six or so years I’ve been living off and on with a mix of Tag Mclaren separates, Rotel and now Meridian components having initially started with a Pioneer receiver in the late 90s.

If you’re willing to put the investment into separates, and the ex-demo/2nd hand market often allows for you to get into high-end components at what may be considered more realistic prices, then the rewards are potentially immense compared to an integrated solution, and I say that as someone who has still yet to perfect my set up as I mean to make changes to the power-amplification and speaker side of my system next year.